Your Leaders

President John A. Lyall

John A. Lyall has served as President of AFSCME Ohio Council 8 since 2007, and was unanimously elected to a third, four-year term in 2015, at AFSCME Ohio Council 8’s 21st Biennial Convention.

President Lyall is a native of Cleveland and first joined AFSCME as a member in 1973, when he went to work for the City of North Olmsted. In 1979, he joined the Cleveland AFSCME staff. He worked as an assistant administrator with the Ohio AFSCME Care Plan, as an organizer, and staff representative.

John Lyall was appointed Cleveland Regional Director in 1991. In 1996, he was elected head of the Cleveland Federation of Labor AFL-CIO, now the North Shore Labor Council, and served as President until 1998. In 1999, he moved to Columbus when he was appointed Council 8’s first Organizing Director, and in 2001, became the union’s First Vice President.

He serves as an AFSCME International Vice President and serves as chairman of the AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Care Plan.

In addition, he serves as a vice president on the Ohio AFL-CIO Executive Board and is a member of the Ohio AFL-CIO Executive Committee. Lyall is also a member of the State Executive Committee of the Ohio Democratic Party.

John Lyall graduated from Baldwin-Wallace College with honors, and completed the Harvard University Trade Union Program.

He has been married 28 years and has three children.

First Vice President Harold Mitchell

Harold Mitchell first became an AFSCME member in 1979, when he worked for the City of Cleveland. He worked his way up through the ranks of AFSCME Local 100, the union for city workers, serving as a steward, as an elected officer, and on negotiating committees.

In 1985, he was elected Local 100 President, and held the office for over 14 years. Harold was elected a Cleveland Regional Vice President in 1987, and he also served on the Cleveland AFL-CIO board for six years.

In 1999, he became Ohio Council 8’s assistant organizing director, and held the position until 2001, when he became the Assistant to the President.

Harold was elected First Vice President by acclamation in 2007 at Ohio Council 8’s 17th Biennial Convention in Dayton. He was re-elected in 2011, and in 2015, he was returned to a third, four-year term by delegates to Ohio Council 8’s 21st Biennial Convention in Cincinnati.


LawsonSecretary – Treasurer Eddie Lawson

Eddie Lawson is a member of AFSCME Local 265 which represents nearly 300 members covered by six separate contracts including: the City of Barberton, Barberton City Schools, City of Norton, Medina Housing Authority, and Wadsworth Wastewater Treatment plant operators.

A 17-year Barberton city employee, Lawson immediately joined the union and quickly worked his way up through the ranks. He has served as a steward and as a chapter chairman, and in 2001, was elected Local 265 President, a post he continues to hold.

Before being elected Ohio Council 8 Secretary-Treasurer in 2015, Lawson served on the Ohio Council 8 Executive Board as an Akron Regional Vice President for 10 years. In addition, for the past 12 years, he has served as vice president of the Tri-County Regional Labor Council.

Lawson works for Barberton’s Water Distribution Department and holds a Class II Water Distribution Operator license.

Lawson has been married 23 years, and has two daughters 16 and 20 years old.

Ann Sulfridge

The AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Executive Board appointed Ann Sulfridge as Recording Secretary at its June, 2018 Executive Board meeting.

Ann has served as a Dayton Regional Vice President since 2011. She is President of AFSCME Local 101 Dayton Public Service Union, which is comprised of 27 chapters representing workers in Montgomery County and the surrounding area.

Ann is a 32-year employee of the City of Dayton and works as a traffic analyst. She immediately joined the union and has served as a steward, chapter chair, on sever al negotiating committees, and in 2013, was elected AFSCME Local 101 President. 

Ann also serves on the executive committee of the Dayton/Miami Valley AFL-CIO and is a member of the Dayton chapter of the NAACP.


Your AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Executive Board

Vice Presidents

Julie M. Albers
Pamela D. Brown
Eric Clemons
Thomas R. Connelly
Detra Covin-Williams
Donald C. Czerniak
Shawn Daum
Randy V. Desposito
Elizabeth Elliott
Jefffery Hastey
Kenneth R. Haynes
Dave E. Logan
Woodrow Chip Moore
Traci R. Poellnitz
Erik Sharp
Pamela S. Shelton
Ann M. Sulfridge
Patricia Waller

Retiree Representatives

Juanita Griffin
Floyd Wright


William Brown
Kimberly N. Gaines
Ramon J. Mendoza

Your AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Regional Directors

Stevan Pickard – Akron
John Johnson – Athens
Renita Jones-Street – Cincinnati
Mark Davis – Cleveland
Roberta Skok – Columbus
Stacey Benson-Taylor – Dayton
LeRoy Herd, Co-Regional Director – Toledo
Steven Kowalik – Toledo
Debbie Bindas – Youngstown

6800 North High Street, Worthington, Ohio, 43085-2512
Phone: 614-841-1918
Fax: 614-841-1299