Sean Grayson Elected President of AFSCME Ohio Council 8

Left to Right Newly elected Council 8 President R. Sean Grayson, First Vice President Marcia Knox and former President John A. Lyall

In a resounding and heartfelt show of support, delegates to the 23rd Ohio Council 8 convention unanimously elected the union’s top leaders to new terms.

Without opposition, Ohio Council 8’s General Counsel Sean Grayson was elected as the new President of AFSCME Ohio Council 8 and former Field Services Director Marcia Knox was elected as First Vice President.


“I know I am leaving our union in good hands with Sean and Marcia at the helm,” said soon to be former president John A. Lyall.


“Having faith in their ability and the wisdom of Council 8 members, I knew they would be elected to the union’s top leadership positions. That made my decision to retire much easier,” Lyall said.

Ann Sulfridge

In addition, AFSCME Local 265 President Eddie Lawson was re-elected as Secretary  Treasurer and AFSCME Local 101 President Ann Sulfridge was re-elected as Recording Secretary.

Regional Vice presidents were elected without opposition in the Akron, Cleveland, Dayton and Youngstown regions. Elections were held for Regional Vice Presidents for the Athens, Columbus and Cincinnati regions and for trustees.

Eddie Lawson

Below are all those elected for Executive Boards across the state.



6800 North High Street, Worthington, Ohio, 43085-2512
Phone: 614-841-1918
Fax: 614-841-1299