Lyall Re-Elected as AFSCME International Vice President


In addition to re-electing President Lee Saunders and Secretary Treasurer Laura Reyes, Ohio Council 8 delegates to the AFSCME International 42nd Biennial Convention also voted unanimously to return Ohio Council 8 President John A. Lyall to a third, four-year term on the 35-member AFSCME International Executive Board.

“I am proud and humbled to receive this vote of confidence.  And working together, I know we will continue to make AFSCME Ohio Council 8 one of Ohio’s strongest unions,” Lyall said.

Lyall has served as President of AFSCME Ohio Council 8 since 2007, and was unanimously elected to a third, four-year term in 2015, at AFSCME Ohio Council 8’s 21st Biennial Convention.

President Lyall is a native of Cleveland and first joined AFSCME as a member in 1973, when he went to work for the City of North Olmsted.

He was appointed Cleveland Regional Director in 1991. In 1996, he was elected head of the Cleveland Federation of Labor AFL-CIO, now the North Shore Labor Council, and served as President until 1998. In 1999, he moved to Columbus when he was appointed Council 8’s first Organizing Director, and in 2001, became the union’s First Vice President.

He serves as chairman of the AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Care Plan, as a vice president on the Ohio AFL-CIO Executive Board, and is a member of the Ohio AFL-CIO Executive Committee. Lyall is also a member of the State Executive Committee of the Ohio Democratic Party.

6800 North High Street, Worthington, Ohio, 43085-2512
Phone: 614-841-1918
Fax: 614-841-1299