Clean Sweep Ohio Mayors

AFSCME Ohio Council 8 members mobilized and played a key role making a clean sweep of Ohio’s major cites by electing AFSCME Power In Action’s endorsed Mayoral candidates.

In Cincinnati, AFSCME Council 8’s support helped elect Aftab Pureval who becomes the city’s first Asian-American mayor. Pureval is the Hamilton County Clerk of Courts where workers are represented by AFSCME Local 3156. 

According to Cincinnati Regional Director Renita Jones-Street “we’ve had a good relationship with Mr. Pureval and we are confident that as mayor, we will continue to work together to make a city that works for everyone.”   

“Cleveland’s AFSCME Council 8 members came out in force to help elect Justin Bibb as the city’s next mayor,” said Cleveland Regional Director Council 8 Marquez Brown. 

Winning in a landside victory, Bibb will be first new mayor of Cleveland since the 2006 election of five-term Mayor Frank G. Jackson who did not seek re-election. Brown said Council 8 members knocked on 6,000 doors and made more than 5,000 phone calls on Bibbs behalf.

In Dayton, two-term City Commissioner Jeffrey Mims will be the city’s next mayor after easily defeating his opponent winning more than two-thirds of the votes cast. Mims, 74, is a former educator and at one time served as the president of the Dayton Education Association, the union representing the city’s public school teachers.

Dayton Regional Director Pete McLinden said Mims is a long time public servant “and has always been a strong advocate for unions and worker’s rights.”   

Mims will be the city’s first new mayor since 2013. He replaces Nan Whaley who is now running for governor.

With strong support from Toledo’s Council 8 members who hit the streets and made phone calls, voters re-electedMayor Wade Kapszukiewicz to a second term by an overwhelming 70% to 30% margin. 

Prior to becoming Mayor in 2018, Kapszukiewicz was Lucas County Treasurer, served one term on the Lucas County Board of Education and was a Toledo city councilman for nearly seven years.

“Council 8 members gave their full support to re-elect Mayor Kapszukiewicz,” said Toledo Regional Director Dawn Bailey. “He has been a solid friend of AFSCME and the Toledo labor community and we’re confident he will keep Toledo growing.” 

  Also in the Toledo Region city of Lima voters went to the polls and elected Sharetta Smith its next mayor, replacing Mayor David J. Berger who held the office for 32 years. In addition, Smith made history by becoming the city’s first woman and its first African American mayor.

“AFSCME members get active when they can elect candidates who support labor and Ohio’s working families,” said AFSCME Ohio Council 8 President R. Sean Grayson. “We engaged our communities and we talked to our co-workers friends, neighbors and family. That’s how we win elections. It’s hard work, but no one does it better than AFSCME!”.

6800 North High Street, Worthington, Ohio, 43085-2512
Phone: 614-841-1918
Fax: 614-841-1299