2017 Scholarships Awarded to Irvine and Aukerman

The Ohio Council 8 Executive Board is pleased to announce that Sydney Irvine has been awarded the Jaladah Aslam Scholarship and Nick Aukerman has been awarded the Robert Turner Scholarship as part of the 2017 Ohio Council 8 Family Scholarship program.

Sydney is the daughter of Jerry Irvine who is Chapter Chairman of AFSCME Local 101-19, which represents Greene County Highway Engineer’s Office employees.

A graduate of Xenia High School, Sydney was a motivated student who achieved an outstanding academic record. In addition, she participated in many school and community activities.

She will be attending The University of Indianapolis this fall and plans to earn a degree as an Athletic Trainer and plans to work with the Wounded Warrior Project.

The 2017 men’s scholarship winner, Nick, is the son of AFSCME Local 101-26 member Kim Auckerman. An active member of the union representing Montgomery County Job and Family Services employees.

Nick graduated from Kettering Fairmont High School, where he was an active student with a strong academic record who was respected by his classmates and teachers.

Excelling at math and science, Nick will be attending The University of Cincinnati in the fall where he plans to become an engineer.

The 2017 AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Scholarships are named in honor of Jaladah Aslam and Robert Turner.

A lifelong resident of the Youngstown metropolitan area, Jaladah Aslam, has been active in the labor movement and politics for the past thirty years.

In 1986, she became Chief Steward for AFSCME Local 2001, representing 286 of her fellow employees of the Mahoning County Department of Human Services where she was a Caseworker.  In 1992, she became the first African American female to serve as a Staff Representative for AFSCME in the Youngstown region.

She retired from AFSCME in 2015, and is now a political and labor consultant.

Robert Turner started his career as a public employee in 1969 when he was hired by the City of Kettering. He immediately joined the chapter of AFSCME Local 101 Dayton Public Service Union which represented Kettering city workers.

In 1978 Turner was hired as AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Dayton Region Staff Representative.  In 1985 Turner was appointed Director of the Athens Region.

In 2000, he was appointed Cincinnati Regional Director where he served until retiring in 2006.  Turner passed away in 2011.

Ohio Council 8 First Vice President Harold Mitchell, chairperson of the executive board committee that reviews the scholarship applications, wished Sydney and Nick the best of luck pursuing their higher education goals.

In addition to Mitchell, the scholarship committee included AFSCME Cleveland Regional Vice President Julie Albers, At-Large Vice President Asyia Haile, and Trustee Kim Gaines.

Sydney Irvine (Right) and Nick Auckerman (Left)

6800 North High Street, Worthington, Ohio, 43085-2512
Phone: 614-841-1918
Fax: 614-841-1299