2017 AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Scholarships Now Available

The AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Executive Board is pleased to announce the 35th annual AFSCME Ohio Council 8 Family Scholarships are now available. The 2017 scholarships are named in honor of retired Youngstown Staff Representative Jaladah Aslam and former Cincinnati Regional Director Robert Turner.

Aslam_2A life-long resident of the Youngstown metropolitan area, Jaladah Aslam, has been active in the labor movement and politics for the past thirty years.

In 1986, Jaladah became Chief Shop Steward for the American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Local 2001, representing 286 of her fellow employees of the Mahoning County Department of Human Services where she was a Caseworker. In 1992, she became the first African American female to serve as a Staff Representative for AFSCME in the Youngstown region.

For the next twenty-three years, Jaladah represented union members in nine different counties along the eastern portion of Ohio.
In addition to negotiating contracts, representing employees in grievance and arbitration hearings and unemployment compensation hearings, Jaladah also served as the Lead Staff for Political Action in Mahoning and Columbiana counties for AFSCME.

Jaladah retired from AFSCME January 31, 2015. She is now an independent political and labor consultant.

Robert Turner started his career as a public employee in 1969 when he was hired by the City of Kettering. He immediately joined the chapter of AFSCME Local 101 Dayton Public Service Union which represented Kettering city workers.
Working his way up through the ranks Turner became chapter chairman, served on AFSCME Local 101’s executive board and in 1977, was elected the union’s vice president.

TurnerLG1In 1978 Turner was hired as an AFSCME Local 101 staff representative. Later that year with the formation of AFSCME Ohio Council 8 he joined the Dayton Region staff.

In 1985 Turner was appointed director of the Athens Region. For the next 15 years served members in the region’s 14 Southeast Ohio counties.

In 2000, he was appointed Cincinnati Regional Director where he served until retiring in 2006. Turner passed away in 2011.

Ohio Council 8 started providing a yearly scholarship for the child of an Ohio Council 8 member in 1982. In 1989 the program was expanded to include a men’s’ and women’s scholarship. Since then the union has awarded more than 50 scholarships.

To be eligible for the four-year grants of $2,500 per year, an applicant must be a high school senior graduating in 2017, be accepted at a four-year accredited college or university as a full-time student, and submit two 500-word essays on, “What AFSCME Means to My Family,” and their reasons for pursuing a college degree.

Council 8 First Vice President Harold Mitchell, chairman of the scholarship committee, said, “Students entering college today need significant financial assistance to pursue their higher education goals. We take great pleasure in awarding scholarships to these outstanding students,” he said.

Mitchell is the chairperson of the committee that reviews the scholarship applications.
In addition to Mitchell, the Scholarship Committee includes Cleveland Regional Vice President Julie Albers, Council 8 Trustee Kimberly Gaines, and At-Large Vice President Asyia Haile.

Members, click here for more information on how to apply for the AFSCME Council 8 Scholarships

6800 North High Street, Worthington, Ohio, 43085-2512
Phone: 614-841-1918
Fax: 614-841-1299